FBQ Tea Time VIII: This Post Is SO Gay

Okay.

So MOST of the Queen’s posts are gay in one way or another. But this one is particularly Poofy.

I don’t know whether it’s because it’s Friday, or the fact that I’m going out with the Boys tonight (oh don’t get so excited. We’re going to grab a bite to eat; catch a 6pm showing of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel at the Chelsea and spend the rest of the night braying show tunes with the other Queens at the Monster), but I’m feeling particularly Queer today. Pop into the Monster after 11 and you can hear me butcher Stevie Wonder’s All Is Fair In Love after I’ve had a few boilermakers for courage. Actually, I have a decent voice. One of my Mid-Year Resolutions is to recognize my strengths instead of constantly referencing my shortcomings. If you want to know what I sound like, take a listen to this:

In Your Heart (from One Bad Apple by Debbie Wicks LaPuma). Also available on iTunes. No. Seriously. It is. Ain’t that crazy?

I told you this post was gay.


To My Family: You Can Thank Me Later

I can’t wait to bring this article out for my Conservative Christian relatives the next time they bring out the old “Be Fruitful and Multiply” line.

We Were Here

The AIDS epidemic has touched all of us over a certain age. It has inexorably informed how we see life and death, love and loss. For many of us in the Gay community it profoundly defined who we were and who we have become.

We Were Here, A Documentary by David Weissman explores the arc of the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco–from those first days when people began to understand that we were in the midst of a real life horror story, to how it has affected us more than 30 years later. It’s not all a downer Miss Things. It also highlights our resilience as human beings. It shows the strength and courage of those who died…AND those who lived. Love and Hope are two of the most fabulous accessories that us Homos don constantly. We Were Here reminds of the indomitable nature of us of the Queer Community. Check your local PBS station for air dates and times.

Marcus Bachmann take notes…Just sayin’

Now that it’s out in the open, maybe Barbie and Ken can move on with their lives.

Hope all you Miss Things have a FABULOUS gay weekend!

4 thoughts on “FBQ Tea Time VIII: This Post Is SO Gay

  1. Wow, is that you, with that deep, growly, sexy voice? Be still my heart!

    By the way, “All Is Fair in Love” is one of my favourite songs (and it never becomes an annoying earworm, no matter how many times I hear it).

    Have a gay old time on your Boys’ Night Out. I could really use one of those myself–it has been too long!

    • P.S. Thanks for the info on “We Were Here.” I hadn’t heard of it, but I definitely want to check it out.

  2. Ooh, I was just a few doors down Grove Street from Monster a couple of weeks ago, at Marie’s Crisis, a divier gay piano bar where people also come to belt out show tunes. Friendliest place ever, and CHEAP drinks! It’s become my favorite blues chaser, and I can’t sing worth shit. A few drinks in me and everyone louder, I almost believe I can.

    Have a great NYC Boys’ Night, Scotty. I might just have to wander down for my Village fix!

  3. What a coincidence – I came across “We Were Here” last night, after midnight, when I was trying to finish up some work (didn’t happen) and then proceeded to stay up waaaay too late watching it. I cried, but it was also invigorating, in a strange way.

    I was only on the fringes of the epidemic in the 80s and early 90s – I worked with or knew casually many young men who deteriorated, went home from the city life they’d built with friends to die in their mothers’ care or simply disappeared from my radar. I knew some of those mothers, and had friends who lost relatives and loved ones. But somehow I never lost anyone near and dear to my heart – it was such a strange, sad, time that I remember feeling guilty about that. I remember feeling so much anger at friends & acquaintances whose fear of the disease fed/created homophobia, so much frustration in so many ways and the guilty relief that when I did see and briefly bear witness to another’s raw fear of his future, it was always with someone to whom I was not important, and who was not important in my heart. I hated how the politics of funding public health and research and social services created rifts, mostly eventually healed but soo intense, among people who should have been each other’s comrades.

    That time was the most intense illustration I had had to that point in my life of the fact that we all live in our own realities – potentially with rich lives stuffed with more than we have time to do or to process – and that people we see or know can have equally busy, rich lives stuffed full of intense interests and concerns of which we are barely aware.

    “We Were Here” was less intense than my memories, frankly. It was well worth watching, and I thought created a mostly hopeful and inspirational narrative. I can imagine that some will feel like it soft-pedals the negative, but I suspect its makers didn’t want it to be too difficult to watch, because there are so many people who don’t have memories of that time, or who, like me, have not recalled the intensity in a long time.

Leave a Reply

