Sunday Brunch 6/10/2012

Well, what a fitting category for the 100th Post. And what a fitting time to once again thank everyone who has taken a moment to read my words. When I started this in January, I had no idea what to expect. All I knew is that if I kept doing the same thing, I was going to get the same results. As one of my mentors Robert Alexander used to say: “You can’t do what you don’t know, if you keep doing what you know.” So I started doing something that I don’t know: blogging.

And I certainly couldn’t know that I would begin a literary dance with such phenomenal, creative, articulate, funny and wonderful people. I am humbled every time you respond to my words. Each time, I am floored that people of your caliber would add your thoughts to mine on everything from Trayvon Martin to Barbie. A little tingle runs up my spine when I see that there is a new comment to one of my posts because I know that my mind will expand a little farther into the depths of the Universe.

Here’s to a hundred posts more.

Rocky Mountain High

Enough of that. I know you’re wondering why I asked you not to wear the chic casual clothing you normally wear to our brunches, and opt instead for equally as chic hiking togs and boots. Well, I asked you here to Estes Park, Colorado for a rather unusual Brunch. Instead of sitting in a little café (which we can do when we get back, if you like), we’re going up into Rocky Mountain National Park for a little Rocky Mountain High. Now don’t be surprised that this Middle-Aged Queen from the city wants to make like Grizzly Adams.

After all, who knows more about camping, then a Fierce Black Queen?

The Queen found a FABULOUS place in the park for setting up Brunch. The menu includes Soyrizo Stuffed Mushrooms as an appetizer, Pasta with Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto, Olives, and Spinach for an entrée, and Dutch Oven Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler for dessert. And of course there’s lots of Coors Beer. If you’re not up for alcohol at this altitude, I’ve got Ginger Peach Juleps without the bourbon. All these recipes can be found at the website Dirty Gourmet–whose mission is to inspire gourmet cooking outdoors. There’s plenty, so eat up. But remember, we’ve got some hiking to do.

Nature’s Museum

Photo by Tom Murray

When I was a young Monarch-in-Training, I visited my brother and sister-in-law in Denver, Colorado for the summer. At the time, my brother was an agent for the now defunct construction company Colorado Log Homes. A part of his job was visiting the construction sites of homes he’d sold. We would head up into the Rockies with the top down on his MG Midget. Even though I am profoundly acrophobic, I was in awe of every single sight and sound I experienced. I longed to know what every call of a wolf meant, and why certain butterflies only appeared on certain sides of mountains.

So I booked us on a guided discovery of the park. We’ll get some hands-on experience with the flora and the fauna. I specifically requested hot, sexy guides so in case you got tired of looking at the park’s natural beauty, you can ogle the instructors natural beauty.

Why Are There So Many Songs About Rainbows?

It is dusk. And the Changing Woman brings soft clouds to cover the mountains for the night. It is easy to understand how the native peoples were able to see such profound images in the world around them.

When I first saw the video of Hungrybear9562, I have to admit that my first response was to cry too. Not because of the sight itself (it is beautiful, but the video hardly does it justice), but because of Mr. Vasquez’s reaction. It is honest and real and incredibly touching to me. How many times in my life have I allowed myself to be completely ensconced in a moment? How many times have I permitted myself to be so emotionally effected (other than onstage) by an event that I give over to it completely–no matter how terrifying it might be. Granted, I still question the use of additional mood enhancing stimuli which may have exacerbated the response, but I was moved. I am moved by anyone who chooses to experience the remarkable power and beauty of the natural world we live in. How can you not be moved by the coming of evening in the mountains?

Come on…you know you want to: let’s all join hands and sing “Kum Ba Yah.”

11 thoughts on “Sunday Brunch 6/10/2012

  1. Beautiful, thank you! Makes me want to take a drive up into the Rockies with you and your brother in that MG Midget. Of course, I’d have to be strapped to the hood, since it was a tiny 2-seater.

    Congrats on post #100. Keep ’em coming!

  2. What a lovely post. Colorado and the surrounding states are so beautiful, you almost forget if you haven’t been for a while. Thank you for another Sunday afternoon smile. 🙂

    Now I have to thump you – harkening back to your previous post about songs……..now starring in my head is Kermit singing about rainbows……….

    And here’s to your next 100.

  3. Congrats on 100!

    Very apropos post today, I am taking my daughter to college orientation in Boulder next week. She, of course, wants to scope out shopping & transportation and no doubt other things one doesn’t scope out with mom. It’s my first time in Colorado, and I’m determined to appreciate a few scenic vistas. Especially since the conveniently located Colorado Shakespeare Festival schedule is dark every single night of our visit.

    Anyone one with great brunch recommendations for Boulder?

  4. Congratulations on your 100th post. Here’s to a 100,000 more. 🙂

    Seriously, Scotty, I’m so happy to have found your blog (shout out to mefein for that). I can’t say it enough – I feel so safe here. I’ve been to other sites that tout themselves as being safe places, but the restrictions on what a commenter can say are insane (a word I wouldn’t be able to use in those places). This place right here is the real deal when it comes to safe spaces.

    Thanks for everything you do for us Miss Things.

Leave a Reply

