The Tears of a Fierce Black Queen

gratitude [ˈgrætɪˌtjuːd]
n
a feeling of thankfulness or appreciation, as for gifts or favours
[from Medieval Latin grātitūdō, from Latin grātus grateful]

Collins English Dictionary – Complete and Unabridged © HarperCollins Publishers 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2003

If the Queen wore makeup–he’d be dabbing his mascara right now.

Growing up whole and sane in this world is a complicated thing. It takes a disparate, and seemingly infinite combination of factors. Some of these factors are individually based: a moment when you had to choose between right and wrong; an instant when you knew that you were truly special. And there are others that seem to be shared by all: love, friendship, understanding and acceptance.

As I’ve said previously, this blogging thing is fairly new to me. The idea of putting your thoughts, ideas and dreams on the end of a hook and casting that hook out into the Sea of Cyberspace can be daunting. Sometimes you can feel quite alone.

I’m here to tell you that you are not.

I’m here to testify in the Church of What’s Happening Now, that there are incredible, INCREDIBLE people who will support you. People who will take their precious time to follow your piddling little blog every day, and have something wonderful to contribute. Warriors who will climb the beanstalk to the Realm of the Giants, and risk being eaten by mentioning your name.

They are out there. You are really not alone. They offer the friendship, understanding and acceptance you need to continue to grow–and hopefully put out something of value…even if it’s mostly about a bunch of Drag Queens.

I don’t know where this blog is going. I often question the relevance of sharing the musings of a fierce black queen. What I don’t question is the fact that there are truly extraordinary people on this planet who will support a short, husky, middle-aged gay man in his quest to be creative.

Thank you all. From the bottom of my fierce, black, queenly heart.

10 thoughts on “The Tears of a Fierce Black Queen

  1. [all verklempt] And, you know, Scotty, this is the perfect lead-in to a post on this week’s very moist Interior Illusions Lounge…. ;->

    Loved the Flip Wilson video. And good ole’ Geraldine Jones: “What you see is what you get!” Now there was a fierce black queen!

    Keep on doing what you do. We’ll be here!

  2. My daily lunchtime read (or how ever often you post :)). Always thoughtful and enjoyable with just the right little bit of snark. You are most appreciated.

  3. So glad I found you over here! I’d missed your intelligent and well-reasoned (and often funny, let’s not forget funny!) comments over at T&L. Look forward to hearing more from you!

  4. I, too, missed you on T&L, so when someone commented that you had a blog, I made it a point to hunt it down. Your blog in now on my list of “regulars” to read…

  5. Sometimes it our friends who get us through both the good times, the bad times and the times that tries our souls. People that you will never meet can be lift you up and lend you a hand. That why I reach out. When I needed friends, strangers reached out to me.

    Besides, Scotty is wicked smart and very funny.

  6. Scotty, I’m so glad that you are doing this! I love your writing and your take on things in general. Thank you for putting your thoughts out there for all to enjoy. I’ve read through all of your posts. (I almost skipped the football ones, because, well, I’m a gay man, sue me, but I’m glad I didn’t–the department store play diagram made me laugh out loud.) I love your RPDR musings, and I hope you’ll do lots of Tea Time posts on everything and anything. Consider me one of the Queen’s loyal subjects.

    –ScottAntoine, a.k.a. ScottAnthony

Leave a Reply

