The FBQ of Project Runway All Stars: The Teflon Designer

Okay. Okay…WTF??!!!

The Queen is the first to admit that I am about as fashion forward as a powdered wig. So I must be missing something. Would someone please…PLEASE explain to me…

WHY HE IS STILL HERE??!!!

Is he fashion forward in a way I just can’t see? When I look at his work, it really does seem to me as if he takes everything he buys at Mood, creates a basic garment, closes his eyes and throws the rest of the fabrics and notions onto it. Wherever they stick-that’s where he tacks them. Is that it? Is looking like you are playing dress-up from the stuff in mommy’s closet the new trend? Is taking cliche’d and stereotypical ideas about a country’s culture and putting them ALL INTO ONE GARMENT the latest thing in couture? Please help me understand. Because right now I feel as if I’ve gone mad. I feel as if all of the things I’ve picked up over the years about fashion and design are wrong. I feel as if I worry too much about being meticulous and precise in my garment construction. That my work would be much more relevant and “on trend” if I tack embellishments onto sleeves so that they look as if they could fall off at any minute. I thought that Heidi, Michael and Nina had taken their crack pipe with them when they left the runway. Apparently however, they taped a couple of rocks under the seats and the current group of judges found, and smoked them. How else do you explain overlooking such shoddy construction? The shoulder seams were HORRIBLE and that trim looked like Miss J got it from the bargain bin remnants section of the store. No way…NO WAY did Mila’s impeccably sewn and bold design deserve to go home ahead of this. As jarring to Isaac as it may have been, it showed such a clear point of view. That alone should have kept the designer in the competition. I really would like to know what it is about Jerell’s aesthetic that keeps the judges wanting to see more? It was interesting to me that during After The Runway, (which by the way, I enjoyed more than I thought I would–even though Bunim/Murray still tried to wring out drama from a relatively drama free cast) Jerell was the only one who had no clique attached to him. Maybe his overblown conceit is just too much for the rest of the group to take.

As a Fierce Black Queen (and he IS a FBQ), I am glad he is doing well. As I’ve said in earlier posts on him, I admire his strong sense of aesthetics–even if I don’t understand it. I just wish to GOD I understood it. Any help you Miss Things can give around that subject would be gratefully appreciated.

4 thoughts on “The FBQ of Project Runway All Stars: The Teflon Designer

  1. LOL, well, we could always go with the Mizrahi-has-a-crush theory. Or maybe Mizrahi looks at Jerrell and sees the man he’d like to be: same “awesome” hair, but taller, thinner, less pasty.

    Other than that or crack, I got nothin’!

  2. I hear you. I was totally baffled by this one. I didn’t particularly love Mila’s dress, but really??!! I therefore call producer b.s. I don’t think either of them had/have a chance to win, and Jerrell makes better television. Mila comes across as a cranky maiden aunt.

  3. I’ve always thought that if Jerell dressed his models as well as he dresses himself (his style isn’t for everybody but I think it’s fantastic for him), he’d mow down his opponents.

    Given the odd & arbitrary nature of Runway teevee, I’m sure it wouldn’t be that easy, but I’ve always loved the look [that I imagine] he’s just an inch – or sometimes a half mile – away from. Even all the bits ‘n bobs he loves to tack onto everything might work if there was a really well structured base for them – but he always seems to come up with these ‘almost’ garments with wonky bodices or no structure to speak of.

    The Godspell challenge decided me, though, that as much as I think he *does* have a great (if unrestrained) eye for color & mixing patterns, he’s not aiming for the look I’ve always thought he was aiming for. Because if he was, that was his challenge to lose. And he not only lost it with the least-godspell garment he’s made this season, Mondo NAILED the look I was expecting from Jerell.

    I still kinda love him though, even if he’s starting to look delusional.

  4. There were major things wrong with ALL of the looks this week. Having said that, I think Jerrell’s look was especially hideous. Poorly constructed, overly embellished, and styled as a parody of the culture it was supposed to be referencing. I have the feeling Mila’s demise was the result of a complex equation. Frankendress + a color combo that Isaac had previously stated a distaste for + a personality that comes off on TV as somewhat cold and sour = Mila’s time to go. I suspect this week Jerrell will go, followed by Kenley. Neither Austin or Michael can challenge Mondo in the finale (unless Monro’s styling goes awry again) and that would make up for the horrible publicity PR got when Gretchen won with that runway full of rags in Murray-Bunim minds. To bad the had an even bigger debacle on their hands while they were filming the last season of PR at the same time as All-Stars and they foisted Anya on us.

Leave a Reply

