RPDR S4,E4: Queens behind Bars-Top & Bottom

What the hell is going on? I’m getting too involved in this. The producers are actually telling a cohesive story! There is a through-line with each of the queens revealing character and motivation as the episodes progress, which advances the plot. It’s good reality television. WTF?

Gratuitous eye-candy and shameless objectification of men. Isn't it WONDERFUL?

Monday’s episode actually ventured into my realm of expertise: acting. Having been the Artistic Director of a theatre company for over a decade, the Queen has had many opportunities to cast, direct, write and manage a myriad of different types of productions. And though I try to be as objective as possible in most areas of my life involving people and situations, I find that I am a judgmental, opinionated bitch when it comes to actors and acting.

Beware me RPDR contestants.

I must admit: I was extremely impressed with the dolls in the mini-challenge. It was quite refreshing to see each of the lady boys embrace the premise and “get ugly.” Since that aspect of the competition is a bone of contention with the Queen regarding some of the contestants, it was nice to see everyone let go and have fun. Some of those bitches were jacked up

I thought Willam’s concept was brilliant. However, imho, there were other teams who had better photo shoots. Nevertheless, when he and Madame LaQueer were chosen I knew the writing was on the wall for one of them.

We’ll get to Milan and Willam in depth during my next DR post.

But I’m sure that all of us Reality Show Competition Veterans knew what was coming when the two of them started boasting about their prowess in the fields of acting and television respectively. And LORD does the Queen have a lot to say about both of them regarding their behavior and performances.

But for now, let us content ourselves with a hearty, and well-deserved Condragulations for Ms. Latrice Royale.

This bitch truly has the potential to go all the way. She knows what she’s doing, she does it well and she grows with each challenge. Big ol’ stereotypical role in this week’s setup. But she made it work. She brings energy and commitment to everything she does. What a statement it would make if a Big Queen could take the top prize. You GO Girl.

And it’s Sashay Away to Madame LaQueer.

I agree with Madame’s exit statement: there are definitely queens that should have gone before her *cough* Kenya Michaels *cough*. But I can’t disagree with her being off’d based on her choices and performance in the main challenge. Again, I think the subtle nuances of American culture are necessary to really get ahead in this game. If she could spend more time in the states absorbing pop culture from a purely native perspective, I think she could truly be somebody, be about something and–say it with me–Prance.

Good luck to you, you Pulchritudinous Puerto Rican Princess.

One thought on “RPDR S4,E4: Queens behind Bars-Top & Bottom

  1. Latrice was hilarious in the sketch, but absolutely radiant on the runway. What a dazzling outer expression of the warmth of the man underneath! And I was so struck by his confessional and the juxtaposition between his comforting of Jiggly last week for the death of his mother with his own situation: “Well, things got a little better after my mother passed….” Wow. Amazing what some people go through and keep their capacity for love intact, isn’t it? Even if not much love comes from the family by chance you’re born into. He serves up some Yoda-wisdom realness!

Leave a Reply

